Epsom and Ewell's sporting stars have been recognised at a prizegiving ceremony at Epsom Downs Racecourse.

The seventh annual Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards was held on October 3 with more than 150 people in attendance, including shortlisted nominees and guests.

Epsom and Ewell Council thanked everyone who nominated their local sporting hero - all 80 nominations were assessed by an independent panel and whittled down to a shortlist.

Councillor Barry Nash, chairman of the community and wellbeing committee, said: "Everyone nominated for an award should feel extremely proud to be shortlisted. It is a fantastic achievement and you are all a credit to our borough.”

Every year there are 10 different awards with each individual award sponsored by a local organisation or business. The 10 winners on the night were:

• Tyri Donovan - Epsom Gymnastics & Trampoline Club Young Sports Personality of the Year

• Epsom Embers Men’s Vets Hockey - Epsom Golf Club Sports Team of the Year

• James Peters - Active Surrey Coach of the Year and Surrey County Playing Fields Association Young Volunteer of the Year

• Epsom Sports Club - Epsom & Ewell Sports & Leisure Council Sports Club of the Year

• Adam Boothroyde - Epsom & Ewell Colts Football Club Volunteer of the Year

• Blenheim High U13s Girls Football Team - AFC Ewell Young Sports Team of the Year

• Alan & Jackie Cunningham - The Rotary Club Outstanding Service to Sport

• Daniel Wolff - Epsom & Ewell Football Club Disability Sports Award

• Michael Helps - Better Sports Personality of the Year Award

Also present at the ceremony were the Mayor of Epsom & Ewell, Councillor Liz Frost, Rio 2016 Paralympics bronze medallist Alexandra Rickham, and Epsom-based horse trainer Laura Mongan.

All winners will go through to the assessment panel for the Surrey Sports Awards 2017, providing they meet the county nomination criteria.

Shortlisted nominees for the county awards will be announced in November, showcasing the very best of sporting talent and dedication in Surrey.